Diane D. Blair Center of Southern Politics & Society

The Blair Legacy Series

The BlairLegacy Series invites senior scholars to assess the regional, national, and international impact of southern politicians, intellectuals, and social leaders. At the inaugural conference, experts considered the legacy of President William Jefferson Clinton. Their findings were compiled in The Clinton Riddle: Perspectives on the Forty-Second President, edited by Todd G. Shields, the Director of the Blair Center, Jeannie M. Whayne, and Donald Kelly, published by the University of Arkansas Press. Conference participants and contributors included: Betty Glad, Ken Bode, David Brady, D. Sunshine Hillygus, Darlene Clark Hine, Randall B. Woods, Dan Carter, Dorothy McBride Stetson, June Teufel Dreyer, Robert Levgold, Randy Roberts, and Barry Hannah. U. S. Senator David Pryor provided a foreword to the book. The Blair Legacy Series focused its 2009 conference on political scientist, V. O. Key, Jr., author of the landmark 1949 Southern Politics in State and Nation. The 2010 conference will debate the legacy of Arkansas-native and respected southern historian, C. Vann Woodward. The conference commemorated 50-year anniversary of the publication of his seminal work, The Burden of Southern History.